NEW: Trump Wins

Donald Trump

( – Following months of successful victories among the states, last night former President Donald Trump won the North Dakota Republican presidential caucuses which add to his winning streak on the road to Super Tuesday.

Trump secured the top spot across 12 caucus sites, which outpaced former U.N. Ambassador Nikki Haley. However, Trump’s momentum had a brief interruption when Haley secured her first campaign victory in the primaries of the District of Columbia.

As the candidates prepare for Super Tuesday, a crucial date when results will pour in from states across the country, Trump and Biden appear to dominate their respective races and are on track to winning their nominations later in the month.

Furthermore, North Dakota’s delegate allocation rules stipulate that candidates can earn delegates if they finish with at least 20% of the vote. Nonetheless, those who secure 60% or more receive all 29 of the state’s delegates.

On the ballot were four candidates: Trump, Haley, Florida businessperson David Stuckenberg who received little attention, and Texas businessperson/pastor Ryan Binkley, who recently ended his campaign.

Furthermore, Trump had previously secured North Dakota’s three Electoral College votes in both 2016 and 2020 which led him to win about 63% and 65% of those votes, respectively.

In turn, the state has been a stronghold for Republicans, with the last Democrat to win in November being Lyndon B. Johnson in 1964.

As president, Trump visited Bismarck and Mandan in 2017 to discuss tax cuts and campaigned twice in Fargo in 2018 for Kevin Cramer’s successful Senate bid against Democratic Senator Heidi Heitkamp.

Meanwhile, North Dakota’s Democratic-NPL Party is conducting a mail-based presidential primary from Feb. 20 to March 30, with limited in-person voting for Indian reservation residents.

The ballot includes Biden, Democrat Dean Phillips, and six others. Ballots will be counted in Fargo on March 30, with results accessible on the party’s website thereafter.

Copyright 2024,